Contemporary classical music publisher

Sonata for Alto Saxophone

alto saxophone and piano

The Sonata for Alto Saxophone was composed in 2003 in its version for clarinet and piano and reworked in 2012 for saxophone; this version is dedicated to Alain Crepin, Simon Diricq and Flavien Casaccio.

Structured in three movements (LivelySlowLively), it requires from both interpreters a great technical virtuosity as well as a strong sense of colour and instrumental dialogue. The first movement is based on two contrasting themes: the first is rhythmic, agitated, even obsessive and is developed in the classical sense of the term, while the second, of more lyrical inspiration, returns only once, transposed a lower tone, a bit like a refrain. The second movement uses the principle of variations on an obstinate bass, alternating and superimposing two particularly expressive motifs. The third and last movement is built on an alternation of episodes of diverse character. It concludes with the surprising return of the first theme of the initial movement.

It was chosen as the compulsory piece for the 2016 Dinant National Saxophone Competition.


This work is available as PDF or Hard Copy at

25,80 43,00 

You may also like...

PDF or Hard Copy
21,60 36,00 
PDF or Hard Copy
9,59 16,00 
Hard Copy
Hard Copy