“Music should humbly try to give pleasure. Beauty should be sensitive; it should give us immediate enjoyment, it should force or wheedle its way into our minds without our having to make any effort to apprehend it.”
Claude Debussy

New publications

Fuga Dupla
Mendes, Gilberto

Fuga Dupla

Fuga Dupla (1954) was discovered as a pencil sketch during the academic research of pianist Antonio Eduardo in 1997. It is an exercise in fugue that incorporates sonic and harmonic

Petite symphonie d'entre-temps
Guerra, Alfonso

Petite symphonie d’entre-temps [score]

Petite symphonie d’entre-temps is the result of a precise and constant work since May 2016. It is originally composed for symphonic orchestra, and consists of 3 movements: I. Larghetto con espressione;

Concerto for piano
Lysight, Michel

Concerto for Piano [parts]

Composed in 2017 following a commission from the Orchestre Royal de Chambre de Wallonie, the Piano Concerto is written in three movements. The orchestra consists of strings, a wind quintet, a

Can we love contemporary music?

Is it possible to love contemporary music? Some years ago, a bunch of composers decided to rebound with the old concept of pleasure. Thanks to them, we can start loving contemporary music again.

This new alliance was not easy to achieve: since the Second World War, leading composers were attracted by intellectual compositional processes. Dodecaphonism and serial music expressed a rage to develop logical systems. The audience didn’t follow and contemporary music concerts became ghettos for a nomenklatura of commissioned composers. But classical music is a language, and any langage grows with evolution while it is killed with revolution.

For the new consonant composers, the problem of the kind of language is not a problem. The point is that music only requires the understanding of both musicians and listeners. This is what New Consonant Music is all about : if you have something to say, just say it!

Who are these composers? The pioneers are Henryk Mikolaj Gorecki, Steve Reich, Michael Nyman, John Adams or Phil Glass. But we want to make you discover many others like Frédéric Devreese, Dominique Dupraz, Piotr Lachert, Michel Lysight, Gilberto Mendes or Georgs Pelecis among many others.