Contemporary classical music publisher

Contemporary classical music publisher

Contemporary classical music publisher

Rhapsody [piano reduction]

clarinet and piano

Composed in 2021 at the request of the great clarinettist Ronald Van Spaendonck, Rhapsody is a work of great virtuosity. Written in one movement, it is structured in three parts ABA’.

A begins with the progressive construction of an ostinato in the piano, over which the clarinet plays a theme of a rhythmic nature. A second, more lyrical theme then appears, but supported by another rhythmic piano ostinato. After an intense climax comes a very long solo cadenza based on the various elements encountered earlier, combining extreme virtuosity and great expressive intensity. The end of the cadenza is followed by the very calm, expressive and lyrical Part B. The dialogue between the piano and the clarinet intensifies. A’ brings back elements of A, but in a highly varied way, superimposed on other motifs from B in a richly contrapuntal writing, leading to the brilliant final conclusion.

This work is available as Hard Copy at:


Related items

You may also like...

Hard Copy or PDF
18,00 36,00