Contemporary classical music publisher

Happy Birthday Variations

string orchestra

In Happy Birthday Variations (2012), “Any resemblance to famous and deceased composers is by no means fortuitous, but on the contrary clearly assumed and claimed”.

The variations on Michel Lysight’s Happy Birthday are therefore intended as a humorous homage to great composers of the past while inviting the listener to a little sound journey in the form of a pastiche: Vivaldi (there is no more season, my good lady), Stravinsky (Sacred Spring), Johann Sebastian Bach (The Art of the Love Fugue), Mozart (Don Juan and his Magic Flute), and finally the “real theme” – which can also be taken up by the audience – harmonised and arranged by the composer himself.

This work is available as PDF at:


You may also like...