violin, clarinet, violoncello and piano

Eriko (2018) was commissioned by Phoïbos, a Brussels association that promotes Arts and Letters and awards the Louis Musin Prize to a Belgian designer every two years. Michel Lysight is the 2019 winner. This piece was intended to illustrate the notion of beauty in the style of the composer. It was therefore quite natural that the title came to his mind, Eriko being the first name of his wife who died at the age of 45. The work is therefore both an evocation and a tribute, which explains the expressive and sometimes dramatic character of the music, but also some more rhythmic passages.

It calls upon the same instrumental formation as Olivier Messiæn’s famous Quartet for the End of Time.

This work is available as
PDF at:


Related items

You may also like...