Contemporary classical music publisher

Adagio [score]

string orchestra or string quintet

Adagio (2008) is based on the Lydian E-flat scale (E-flat, F, G, A, B-flat, C, D) and develops in a five-part canon (violins I, violins II, violas, cellos and double basses) a looped melodic cell (E-flat, A, C, G, D, F, B-flat) in which the duration of each note is calculated according to the Fibonacci series (2, 3, 5, 8 etc.) using the quarter note as the basic unit. Gradually, the instruments move from the low to the high register, reaching an intense climax fortissimo towards the middle of the piece (bar 30). The tension then slowly decreases until the last chord of six sounds (C, G, E, B, F sharp, D) which makes us switch without transition to another harmonic and modal colour, like an open door or an open question. This work is dedicated in friendship to the great French composer Anthony Girard.

The world premiere of the string quintet version took place in Brussels as part of the Festival Émergence on October 4, 2008 by the Bruxellensis Quintet.

The world premiere of the version for string orchestra took place in Brussels on October 2, 2011 by the Orchestra of the 21st Century under the direction of the composer in a concert entirely devoted to his works.

The Polish premiere of the version for string orchestra took place in Gdansk on December 20, 2012, within the framework of a concert entirely devoted to the works of Michel Lysight, by the Chamber Orchestra of the Academy of Music of Gdansk under the direction of Sylwia Janiak.

This work is available as Hard Copy at


Related items


You may also like...

Hard Copy
Hard Copy
PDF or Hard Copy
13,02 23,00