violin, clarinet and piano

Runes (2004) for violin, clarinet and piano (a formation used by Bartók, Stravinsky, Milhaud, Sculthorpe and many others) is in three movements. The first is entirely based on a succession of seven chords serving as a harmonic scheme for many variations of extremely different characters.

The second uses an ostinato on which various melodies are superimposed. This ostinato will also be played on all the instruments and will be varied in several places. The movement ends in a totally ethereal way.

The third movement, written in a very lively 7/8, is a breathless race where short, easily recognizable motifs are looped, pass from one instrument to another, are superimposed, modulate, all this to a brilliant Coda.

This work is available as
Hard Copy or PDF at:

15,50 31,00 


You may also like...