• Lysight, Michel:
  • Alto Saxophone Sonata

alto saxophone and piano

The Alto Saxophone Sonata was composed in 2003 in its version for clarinet and piano and reworked in 2012 for saxophone; this version is dedicated to Alain Crepin, Simon Diricq and Flavien Casaccio.

Structured in three movements (Lively – Slow – Lively), it requires from both interpreters a great technical virtuosity as well as a strong sense of colour and instrumental dialogue. The first movement is based on two contrasting themes: the first is rhythmic, agitated, even obsessive and is developed in the “classical” sense of the term, while the second, of more lyrical inspiration, returns only once, transposed a lower tone, a bit like a refrain. The second movement uses the principle of variations on an obstinate bass, alternating and superimposing two particularly expressive motifs. The third and last movement is built on an alternation of episodes of diverse character. It concludes with the surprising return of the first theme of the initial movement.

It was chosen as the compulsory piece for the 2016 Dinant National Saxophone Competition.


  • Title: Alto Saxophone Sonata
  • Composer(s):
  • Reference: AVK171b
  • Type:
  • Formation: alto saxophone and piano
  • Class:
  • Instrument(s): sax-pf
  • Difficulty: 5 (virtuoso)
  • Year: 2014
  • Duration: 15 min
  • Pages: 31+11
  • Length: 29.7 cm
  • Width: 21 cm
  • Weight: 85 g

This work is available as Hard Copy or PDF

18,00 36,00 

  • Hard copy
  • PDF

You may also like...