• Lysight, Michel:
  • 7 Koan


The 7 Koan for piano (2001) are short pieces of a mostly meditative nature (only two of them use a fast tempo). They are all based on a single motif, or even a simple sketch, and require from the performer a keen sense of harmonic colour and beauty of tone as well as a subtle touch. They are fleeting poetic moments, each corresponding musically to an imaginary zen meditation phrase.

The world premiere took place in Brussels on 7 December 2008 at the Musical Instrument Museum (MIM) by pianist Jean-Claude Vanden Eynden, laureate of the Queen Elisabeth Competition of Belgium and dedicatee of the work.

The French premiere took place in Paris on 8 December 2011 by Geneviève Girard.

  • Title: 7 Koan
  • Composer(s):
  • Reference: AVK142
  • Type:
  • Formation: piano
  • Class:
  • Instrument(s): pf
  • Difficulty: 3 (average)
  • Year: 2001
  • Duration: 10 min
  • Pages: 12
  • Length: 29.7 cm
  • Width: 21 cm
  • Weight: 74 g

This work is available as Hard Copy or PDF

5,00 10,00 

  • Hard copy
  • PDF

You may also like...