New Consonant Music



Contemporary music! Some time ago, after a long period of obscurity, some composers decided to rebound with the old concept of pleasure.

« Music should humbly try to give pleasure. Extreme complication is the opposite of art. Beauty should be sensitive; it should give us immediate enjoyment, it should force or wheedle its way into our minds without our having to make any effort to apprehend it. » - Claude Debussy

This was not easy : since the Second World War, composers were attracted by intellectual compositional processes. Dodecaphonism and serial music expressed a rage to build systems based on logic. The audience didn't follow and contemporary music concerts became ghettos for a nomenklatura of commissioned composers. Classical music is a language, and any langage grows with evolution while it is killed with revolution.

For the new consonant composers, the problem of the kind of language is not a problem. Their music can be tonal, atonal, microtonal... who cares? The point is that their music is understood by both performers and audience. So, New Consonant Music is nothing but the resurgence of an old and simple idea : if you have something to say, just say it!

Who are these composers? The pioneers are Henryk Mikolaj Gorecki, Steve Reich, Michael Nyman, John Adams or Phil Glass. But we want to make you discover many others like Frédéric Devreese, Dominique Dupraz, Piotr Lachert, Michel Lysight, Gilberto Mendes or Georgs Pelecis among many others.

[Learn more about new consonant music...]




Márcio Bezerra

Bezerra's book
« Although Gilberto Mendes is regarded as one of the leading Brazilian composers of the twentieth century, there is a very limited literature dealing with his work, and, in the genre of piano pieces, published in-depth studies are non-existent. An examination of the development and main characteristics of Mendes’ music will help scholars, performers, and the general public to better understand his ideas and stature among contemporary composers. » - 19.00 EUR

Michael Kugel

Kugel's book

A study of two major viola works : Shostakovitch's Sonata and Bartók's Concerto by one of the most famous contemporary viola-players. This luxury edition contains the text in English and in German. Numerous illustrations by courtesy of the original publishers. - 40.40 EUR