Contemporary classical music publisher


violoncello and piano

Anaglyphes (2021) is a suite of three short pieces for violoncello and piano. They are dedicated to Yuna Van Spaendonck.

The first one is in ABA’ form. A develops two patterns: the first, very rhythmic and based on short double-string values, alternates with the second, which is more melodic and is played pizzicato. B is directly more lyrical in nature, allowing a long melody to blossom, first enunciated in the piano with the cello supporting it rhythmically until the cello takes up the melody, the piano playing an obstinate counter-motif. A’ then returns and exploits the two elements heard in A, creating surprising colour changes through sudden modulations and superimposing the two elements.

The second one is based on a very expressive melody which passes through various atmospheres thanks to numerous modulations and a dialogue of equals between the two instruments.

The third piece is also in ABA’ form. A alternates a motif with an assertive rhythmic character with a more expressive motif based on cello arpeggios supported by rhythmic piano chords. B sees the cello singing a long melody that unfolds in the high register while the piano plays a sixteenth-note ostinato. A’ reintroduces the two motifs from A but in different keys and with variations, ending in a passionate and luminous mood.

Soloist part:

This work is available as Hard Copy or PDF at

8,75 17,50 

(Check the free files tab above.)

You may also like...

Hard Copy
Hard Copy
PDF or Hard Copy
11,50 23,00